Why is your blog named so?

I didn’t really had to think about a name before starting my first blog. Come to think of it, I first thought about a name for it and then made it, as in “If I ever have a blog, I would name it this” so there wasn’t much of a story behind. But then, that blog didn’t perform so well and I made my other blog- “A Bandwidth Review” which again didn’t really have much scope to its naming. As it was supposed to be on movie reviews primarily, the ‘a’ and the ‘review’ parts were pretty much a necessity and the only creativity I could show was with the middle word. Still, all I could come up with was ‘Bandwidth’ (would you believe it, like seriously, ‘bandwidth’..). When I did name my blog that, I atleast had a good solid reason for doing it but now, I just feel it is plain wrong. Still I don’t intend to change it. Maybe because I have gotten to love it in spite of its faults; maybe because I just love the way it sounds 🙂

Source

But how did you really decide on a blog name? Did you come up with something peppy and went on with it? Or did you spend a considerate lot of time thinking about a fantastico title for that beloved blog of yours. Maybe you thought it should be something that makes an impact straightway, something that people hear about and cannot really get out of their minds. Or maybe you really named it after a feeling that justified the entire psychology that your blog revolves around. Did you, like me perhaps, come up with something that sounded elegant, like classical music maybe? How can a newbie decide on how to name his/her blog? What does your blog name say about you?

As for me, the one real thinking time I had to put in into naming a blog was for the present one- Takhallus-e-Haqeeqat. To be honest, I didn’t really feel I was going to make a statement out of my blog’s name nor that it should be something that gauges the inner truths behind my posts. I just thought it would be cool to name it Takhallus-e- ______.

Yes that was the big conundrum- The missing blank, the ‘______’ . I thought of many things to fill it with and rejected them all. Many sounded better than the present one but I felt- “Do they really mean anything?”. Then later, I was thinking about what I would put into my url. I felt that a url containing the word ‘takhallus’ would never land people in the right place and so I needed something quick and quirky here. So I went after the translation of my blog name- ‘the pen name of…’ and it suddenly struck me- ‘pen name of reality’. Maybe I inadvertently thought about the people who had different realities but they took on a guise to write their hearts out. Maybe I though about them in the remotest corner of my mind and about how they had taken a pen-name to jot down the naked truth and the blatant reality of life. And it may very well be that I, much like other times, liked the sound of it- ‘Takhallus-e-Haqeeqat’ . But I choose to tell the former reasons to people when they ask me about it and believe, I have finally come up with a good one. Am I right?

What is your story behind your blog’s name? Why is it named so? Or what do you intend to name your future blog?  Do tell us in the comments section.

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Leave a Reply

