An Impact: How fast does an Auto rickshaw go?

 

I was stupid and I was in a hurry. These two are actually some of the worst things you can be for disaster to come rushing your way. But you can’t always control things and accidents happen by mistake.

I was in my class 12 then and after an 8 to 2:30 school, needed to rush to my Maths classes at 4. Within these one and a half hours, I needed to get back home after finding a city-bus, get a change of clothes, have lunch and again catch another city-bus to get to my classes. Yeah, it doesn’t sound too tough and as a matter of fact, it wasn’t because I had been managing this quite deftly and sometimes with some minutes to spare. Only this particular time, I had let things get out of my hands and time flow out of its mark.

As I finished lunch and rushed to grab my bag to get the necessary books, I glanced at the wall-clock which showed the long hand at 10. I had ten minutes to get to my class now and  I knew that I was going to be late. It was to take me 5 more minutes to reach near the bus-stop but as soon as I reached there, I saw a bus leaving the stop and approaching the flyover which I was standing at the start of, only on the other side. Within a second, I knew that it would take nowhere less than 15 minutes for another bus to come and so I rushed to cross the road so as to get to the other side of the road and catch the bus there as it used to slow down near the start of the flyover if there were passengers (something I had learnt from few other times I had done the same :p). Again, only this time, as soon as I rushed to cross, an auto rickshaw descending down the flyover on my side of the road hit me, dragging me with it for a few yards. I don’t really remember the next five minutes or so but it felt like I was sleeping and having a crude dream. “Maybe this is what people call losing consciousness”, I thought for many days after that. As I was in that state, what seemed like a long sleep, I heard someone suggesting to take me to the hospital. I opened my eyes and I suppose I saw a crowd but don’t remember a picture. In utter confusion I negated their proposal of taking me to the hospital, instead asking them to take me home. They asked me if I lived nearby and I said yes. The Autowala then took me to my home with me directing him, still not fully conscious, resting on some guy’s shoulder, possibly some angel of some kind who saw fit to get into a potential mess.

As I reached home and got down, I literally thanked both of them, even in the state I was in, for the humanity they had shown. Sometimes, humanity is prevented by fear, say, how the family members of the guy concerned would react or maybe they would get into some problem if they help someone. As such, I thanked them for their courage too.

I don’t mean to mention the more emotional parts of this but I had multiple injuries on my legs, hands and waist. The impact kept me home for about a week, with some small trips to a nursing home but things, both physically and mentally, healed well and quick. What I lost therein was a Monte- Carlo Denim that got torn beyond repair and my bag which my sister had gifted, one that I eventually got repaired.

“How fast can an Auto-rickshaw go? ” I still wonder. ” Pretty fast’, is all I can guess.

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Leave a Reply

